Why Worship Leaders do well on American Idol

Kris Allen

Kris Allen

You could say the reason why Worship leaders do well on American Idol is because they have God.
Maybe so maybe not, you can argue that with your Bible study group on Monday nights.
After Tuesday nights performance by American Idol contestant
Kris Allen (watch here) of “she works hard for the money
I started to realize that he has an advantage over
the other contestants, he’s a worship leader.

Let me explain……

The main job of a worship leader, talking purely on the surface level (no spiritual discussion here),
is to sing and play music for others to sing along with and enjoy.
I don’t know about you, but that is kind of why we watch American Idol.
Sure, we also watch to see how drunk Paula is going to be that night,
or what Simon is going to say. But the main reason we watch is to see what they sing
and how they perform.
After watching Kris sing last night, (and Danny as well) I realized that he has done this before.
At some point in his worship leading days he has had to perform a “special” of some sorts.
The church in Vegas that I use to intern at would do this regularly.
Whether it be the first week I was there and B Parker sang a switchfoot song, or most recently
Jason singing the new Fray song (Don’t remember the name, but they all sound the same),
churches like to use “secular” music to make a point.
Kris job on American Idol and at church is to make the song original, interesting well done, and
original. What better training than to work in a church a sing all kinds of different songs
in a short amount of time. To be honest Kris really has a big advantage here and is going to
win American Idol.

Who knows, maybe this guy or this guy or maybe this weirdo will win next year…..

What do you think? Am I off base here?

*Kyle

4 Responses

  1. Sure. I can get on board with that!

  2. although kris has done well (esp. this week) and will probably continue to do well, i don’t agree that he will win it all. adam most likely will. kris doesn’t have the rockstar vibe going for him.

    • Casey, I think you are right on this one. I just think he has a great shot at winning because he has to do this for a living. Unfortunately I think Adam will win because everyone likes him, even though I don’t think he is any better than Danny or Kris. But I think Kris will make it to the final 3 because of his experience.

  3. […] you Read the Most Note to my SisterWhy Worship Leaders do well on American IdolAboutWhat I […]

Leave a comment